Commencement 2016 | Thiel College
🔍 menu
Thiel College
in this section

Commencement 2016

Thiel College will celebrate its 142nd Commencement exercises on Sunday, May 8, 2016 at 2 p.m. in the Passavant Center. Baccalaureate will be held at 10 a.m. in the David Johnson Memorial Chapel.

Watch Commencement Live!

Schedule of Events

9:45 a.m.
Call to Worship, Ringing of the College Bell

10 a.m.
Baccalaureate Service, David Johnson Memorial Chapel

11:15 a.m.
Class of 2016 Tree Dedication, Brother Martin's Walk

11:45 a.m.
Gala Luncheon, TC Cafe in the Howard Miller Student Center (HMSC)
Reservations required for graduates and guests.

1 p.m.
Graduate Robing, Rissell-Beeghly Gymnasia
Faculty Robing, Greenville Hall
Platform Party Robing and Photographs, Friends of Art Gallery in the HMSC

2 p.m.
Commencement Exercises, William A. Passavant Center

3:30 p.m.
Commencement Reception, HMSC terrace and lawn
Rain location: Lutheran Heritage Room in the HMSC

Professor David Miller '61, Commencement Speaker

Miller is a 1961 graduate of Thiel College and has been teaching at the school since 1963. He is the longest serving professor in Thiel College’s 150-year history. Miller has taught more classes, advised more students and served more years than any professor in Thiel College’s history. Miller earned his M.B.A. in 1962 from the University of Pittsburgh where he was awarded a full fellowship. Miller has served as the director of the Haller Enterprise Institute since its inception as the Thiel Enterprise Institute. He is the first professor to hold an endowed academic chair at Thiel; is the 1990 recipient of the Sears-Roebuck Teaching Excellence and Campus Leadership Award; and in October 1999, he received the Service to Thiel Award from the Thiel Alumni Association.

Honorary Degrees

  • Edward A. Bartko '72, former Chair of the Board of Trustees
  • The Rev. Dr. David P. Gleason, former member of the Board of Trustees
  • LaVonne Johnson, generous friend of the College

Emeritus Professors

Andrew J. Grover, M.S., department chair and professor of mathematics and computer science
Max. E. Shellenbarger, M.A., lecturer of mathematics and computer science
Robert A. Wells, Ph.D., professor of political science

Previous Years