Thiel College



Thiel College benefits from the active involvement of four boards. We thank all the members of these boards for their invaluable advice and assistance in providing a great educational experience to our students.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for the oversight of Thiel College. The Board adopts rules, regulations and policies governing Thiel College and has authority over curricular development, use of property, development of facilities and fiscal and human resources management. The Board of Trustees meets formally three times a year on campus.


Mark Benninghoff

Mark Benninghoff  '82, Chair
Physician Practice Management Executive and Consultant

Barry Stamm

Dr. Barry Stamm '70, Vice Chair
Stamm Cataract & Laser Center, Inc.
Erie, PA

Chip Dufala

Chip Dufala '92, Treasurer
Executive Vice President/Services at Erie Insurance
Erie, PA

Leah Dever

G. Leah Dever ’74, Secretary
Bonita Springs, FL


John Barr

John M. Barr ’70
Chief Marketing Officer at Hillside Family of Agencies
Rochester, NY

Robert Burns

Dr. Robert Burns ’74
Mansfield Pediatrics, Inc.
Mansfield, OH

Lewis Carbone

Lewis "Lou" Carbone ’71
Experience Engineering, Inc.
Minneapolis, MN

Jason Chappell

Jason Chappell ’96
Vice President of Cemline Corporation
Cheswick, PA

Connie Danko

Connie Danko ’69
Niskayuna, NY

Dale Deist

Dale W. Deist
Founder of Deist Industries/Bucks Fabricating
Hadley, PA

Brian Evans

Rev. Brian Evans ’03
Faith Lutheran Church
White Oak, PA

Alan Fager

Dr. Alan Fager ’69
York, PA

John Frangakis

John R. Frangakis
Chairman and CEO of Reynolds Services, Inc.
Greenville, PA

Fred Haer

Fred Haer ’65
President of FHC, Inc.
Bowdoinham, ME

John Hudson

John Hudson
Hudson Group, Inc.
Hermitage, PA

Rick Huether

Rick Huether ’74
President of Independent Can Co.
Belcamp, MD

Cara Lapic

Dr. Cara Hoehn Lapic ’92
Vice President of BNY Mellon
Pittsburgh, PA

Fred Luchette

Dr. Fred Luchette ’76
Professor of Surgery at Loyola University Chicago
Maywood, IL

Frank Maenpa

Dr. Frank Maenpa ’69
Ashtabula, OH

Catherine Mott

Catherine V. Mott
Founder and CEO of BlueTree Capital Group, LLC
Wexford, PA

Barry Oman

Barry Oman ’74
Combined Systems, Inc.
Jamestown, PA

Ronald Owen

Ronald W. Owen ’71
Vice President at Fidelity National Title Insurance Company
Pittsburgh, PA

Don Owrey

Don Owrey ’89
President of UPMC Horizon
Farrell, PA

William Parker

William V. Parker ’75
Principal of Global Engagement Solutions, LLC
Derwood, MD

Susan Snowden

Susan R. Snowden, Esq.
Martin & Siebert, LC
Martinsburg, WV

Sarah Taylor-Rogers

Dr. Sarah Taylor-Rogers ’69
Assistant Director of Harry R. Hughes Center for Agro-Ecology, Inc. at the University of Maryland
Queenstown, MD

Miles Wallace

Miles Wallace
President of Ehrlich Wesen & Dauer, LLC
Pittsburgh, PA

Rod Wilt

Rod Wilt ’86
Partner of Oakmont Real Estate Management, LLC
Oakmont, PA

Cathryn Zawacki

Cathryn Zawacki ’71
Warren, PA

Michael Zawoysky

Michael G. Zawoysky ’79
Chief Executive Officer of Shoe Sensation, Inc.

Trustees Emeriti

Frank Baker

Dr. Frank Baker
Elderton, PA

Robert Blomquist

Dr. Robert O. Blomquist H'99
Fort Myers, FL

Glen Johnson

Dr. Glen R. Johnson H'88
President of Multitrust Fund, Inc.
Pittsburgh, PA

James McHugh

Dr. James McHugh '62, H'02
Latrobe, PA

Barbara Nakles

Barbara Nakles
Greensburg, PA

James Pedas

Dr. James Pedas '50, H'89
Co-owner of Circle Companies
Washington, DC

Roy Strausbaugh

Dr. Roy Strausbaugh H’14
Chair of History and Associate Dean of Social Studies at Mercyhurst College
Erie, PA

John Vitale

Dr. John L. Vitale '47, H'90
Sanibel Island, FL

Howard Weyers

Dr. Howard Weyers '56, H'11
Okemos, MI

The Board of Associates serves as an advisory capacity to the administration, weighing in on topics such as academics, student and religious life, enrollment management, finance, buildings and grounds, and advancement. The group meets two to three times per year.

Mr. Glen Augustine
President of Greenville Savings Bank
Greenville, PA

Mr. Gary Best ’77
Principal at PerformanceBest, LLC

Mr. James D. Bittel, Jr. ’60
Bittel and Company
Greenville, PA

Mr. Robert C. Denove ’75
Partner at Deloitte & Touche
Pittsburgh, PA

Mr. David L. Hofius ’64
Retired Manager of Internal Control at Delphi Packard Elect. Division
Youngstown, OH

Mr. Michael J. Kuder
Attorney at WESCO International
Pittsburgh, PA

Mr. Chris Loutzenhiser
Owner of Loutzenhiser-Jordan Funeral Home
Greenville, PA

Mr. Eric S. Newman ’99
Director/Attorney at Cohen and Grigsby, PC

Mrs. Sue A. Nicklin
Vice President of Anderson Coach & Tour
Greenville, PA

Mrs. Lee Ann Nucerino ’87
Adjunct Professor at Penn State Shenango

Mr. Leo M. Phillips ’84
Business Owner and EMT/Firefighter
Allison Park, PA

Mr. Glenn C. Riley
Vice President of Operations at UPMC Horizon
Greenville, PA

Mr. Paul H. Saternow, C.S.P. ’71
President of Safety Dynamics
Masury, OH

Mr. Mathew J. Saur ’11
Corporate Associate at Cravath, Swaine, & Moore

Mr. John E. Thigpen ’86
General Manager at Ilsco Extrusions Inc.
Greenville, PA

Mr. Nicholas Travaglianti ’11
HR and Payroll Administrator at The NRP Group
Cleveland, OH

Mr. Jeffrey Wallace
Vice President of Commercial Lending at First National Bank
Hermitage, PA

The Hon. Roy W. Wilt '59, H'85
Retired State Senator
Greenville, PA

The Alumni Association Board of Directors is comprised of representatives from the Alumni Association who are elected to serve a three-year term and may be re-elected to a second term. In addition, at-large members may be elected whose geographic location prevents them from attending meetings but who are interested in promoting the college in their area. Each board member is assigned to one of five committees as outlined in the Alumni Association By-Laws. Interested in serving on the Alumni Association Board of Directors? Contact the Alumni Office for more information.